Del Shannon – Runaway

First Hit #1: April 24, 1961

I’m not sure about this one. I do like the music overall, which is driving and pretty inventive in the use of potentially annoying sounds. However, then I come to the other potentially annoying sound of the song, Del Shannon’s vocals, and I hit a wall with it. I can’t really get behind this performance. He loves doing a weird high pitched thing that just seems a bit annoying rather than enhancing the performance overall. It’s strange, because parts of it are really good, but then it has these moments of jarring annoyance that take you out of the song completely. So I frequently jump between liking it quite a lot and it annoying the crap out of me. I wish I could decide if it was actually good.

This entry was posted in 1961 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

