Petula Clark – My Love

First Hit #1: February 5, 1966

Petula Clark was born to sing jingles. While Downtown was basically a song about the awesomeness of your local shopping district, the lyrics of My Love don’t indicate anything about jingles. It’s all about how great Clark’s love is, so it’s nothing that really would indicate on paper that the track is at all an advertisement for anything – apart from dating Petula Clark, I suppose.

So, then, why do I have the sudden urge to buy some clothes?

Seriously, the bopping over the top music and Clark’s voice give me the urge to go shopping, I can’t really explain it. It’s not really that similar to Downtown and the lyrics aren’t even about the joy of a new pair of pants. It just has the mood that works so well for advertisements for shopping centers. I can just see happy couples looking in windows and buying gifts in a Christmas ad set to this track. It’s poppy and fun, but it’s also very strangely commercial.

This entry was posted in 1966 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Petula Clark – My Love

  1. Tris says:

    And she hated it….

    Despite that she recorded it in French, German and Italian, as well as English, and it was successful in all four languages.

    I saw her recently in Paris… She still fills huge concert halls, and tears the place down.

Leave a Reply

