KC and the Sunshine Band – Get Down Tonight

First Hit #1: August 30, 1975

I should probably get around to doing a Big Chorus category, but until then I’ll just have to keep pointing out big chorus songs, and Get Down Tonight is the ultimate in big chorus songs. It’s basically one line – Do a little dance, make a little love, get down tonight – but that one like has become a pop culture beacon and the calling card of an entire decade and genre of music. So one might be forgiven if they forget there’s an entire song here that exists outside of the chorus – one that seems to be forgotten as people rush to get down. I thought I’ve heard this song a billion times by now, and I’ve definitely heard the chorus that often, but somehow I didn’t realize that it opens with a trippy and chaotic mess of noise. I also didn’t really recognize any of the other lyrics, or that it somehow predicted the noise when Mario gets coins – ten years from when the song was released! There’s a lot of interesting stuff here, but really, the song is about getting down, preferably tonight, and so it’s no surprise that it’s so easy to miss the rest of it.

This entry was posted in 1975, A good song and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KC and the Sunshine Band – Get Down Tonight

  1. Anthony Turi says:

    Brilliant! I’m so glad someone has written about this song. It’s brilliant. Thank you. I love this blog! While I’m here can I also give a shout out to my other favourite song by KC & The Sunshine Band: Give It Up. Super, high-energy fun 🙂 : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IeqtAB1WgEw

Leave a Reply

