Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes – (I’ve Had) The Time of my Life

First Hit #1: November 28, 1987

I was ready to call (I’ve Had) The Time of My Life a bit of unrelenting cheese. It’s probably due to its association with Dirty Dancing, and all of the programs which throw in a reference to that cheesy Patrick Swayze romance. But actually, divorced from context, it’s a pretty alright love song. It’s a little cheesy, sure, but it’s more fun than ridiculous, and Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes have a couple of oddly complimentary voices. It’s a fun song, surprisingly so, and while the performers take it seriously enough to give a bit of dramatic heft – helped along by the many quiet moments in the track – it’s still a song that has little explosions of celebration sprinkled through, with distinctly ’80s touches like sax solos and little splashes of synthesizers. Ignore Swayze for a moment, and you’ve got a pretty fun little love song, one that just happened to be connected to a blockbuster.

This entry was posted in 1987 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes – (I’ve Had) The Time of my Life

  1. RBerman says:

    A nice love song by two winning performers from previous decades (the 60s and 70s, respectively). Warnes cements her odd niche as soundtrack queen (see also An Officer and a Gentleman; Ragtime; Growing Pains; All the Right Moves). I wonder about the tense of the title. “I’ve Had the Time of My Life” sounds like the end of something, not the beginning.

Leave a Reply

